Teaching and Learning Team

Fun fact: I was a Peace Corps Volunteer; I still love to travel and explore diverse cultures.

Leticia Pineiro

LPineiro@schools.nyc.gov

Director, Teaching & Learning Director

Contact me about professional learning opportunities, curriculum, educational resources, or academic policy.

Fun Fact: I was a Peace Corps Volunteer; I still love to travel and explore diverse cultures.

Photograph of Susan Ackert

Susan Ackert

SAckert@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about ELA support, reading intervention programs, and best pedagogical practices.

Fun Fact: I visited 5 national parks on a cross-country road trip.

Photograph of Stephen Armada

Stephen Armada

sarmada@schools.nyc.gov

Academic Policy, Performance and Assessment Specialist

Contact me about Contact me about STARS, ATS, Academic Policy and any other DOE system that has a button.

Fun Fact: I love selling vintage clothing online.

Photograph of Anna Arrigo

Anna Arrigo

aarrigo@schools.nyc.gov


Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about ELA K-8, Priority Learning Standards, ILF and ELA research based strategies.

Fun Fact: Mother of two children that keep me grounded on how students learn best.

Photograph of Iris Battino Bernstein

Iris Battino Bernstein

ibattin@schools.nyc.gov

Academic Policy, Performance and Assessment Specialist

Contact me about STARS, Academic Policy, Performance or Assessment questions, I'm happy to help!

Fun Fact: I love spending time with my 6 grandkids, 3 of which are triplets!

Photograph of Rajeev Bector

Rajeev Bector

Rbector@schools.nyc.gov

Advance Lead

Contact me about Advance policy, assessment administration, and questions about the observation and feedback cycle.

Fun Fact: I love helping others.

Photograph of Nicole Beinhorn

Nicole Beinhorn

nbeinhorn@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about K-8 Science (especially Amplify), data-driven instruction, and digital tools for remote learning.

Fun Fact: I am a third generation District 26 teacher! Thanks to my grandma and my mom, it runs in the family!

Photograph of Kris Bertoglio

Kris Bertoglio

KBertoglio@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about educational research (especially PER, CLT, & LRI/L), STEM, CRSE, & bit.ly/ScienceStoryRoutine

Fun Fact: My midlife crisis turned me into a fish keeper; I have 4 aquariums and counting.

Photograph of Shermila Bharat

Shermila Bharat

sbharat@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about all things high school social studies.

Fun Fact: I ride a trike.

Photograph of Gina Ceparano

Gina Ceparano

gceparano@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about research based strategies that engage students in learning and help close the achievement gap.Fun Fact: I am a mom of boy girl twins that were born on Halloween!

Photograph of Lisa Elkaabi

Lisa Elkaabi

LElkaabi@schools.nyc.gov

School Improvement Coach

Contact me about Ed Tech, Google Suite, Digital Tools, all things instruction - especially high school science!

Fun Fact: I love creating digital resources for teachers and formatting digital documents.

Photograph of Liz Fisher

Liz Fisher

EFisher12@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about mathematics K-8, math & ILF, Blended Learning, envisions, and planning professional learning cycles.

Fun Fact: I like bubble tea and rolling my own sushi.

Photograph of Ingrid  Lafalaise

Ingrid Lafalaise

ILafala@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about support for science education K-12.

Fun Fact: After college, I traveled and wanted to become a cultural anthropologist before becoming a teacher.
Photograph of Anna McDonald

Anna McDonald

AMcDonald13@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about Amplify Science support K-8, pedagogical practices and digital supports for remote learning.

Fun Fact: I love scuba diving to explore shipwrecks and underwater caves.
Photograph of Pazzy Quiroz

Pazzy Quiroz

pquiroz@schools.nyc.gov

Academic Policy, Performance and Assessment Specialist

Contact me about STARS, Academic Policy, ATS, Performance & Assessment

Fun Fact: I have worked for the NYCDOE since 2000.
Photograph of Daniel Racic

Daniel Racic

Dracic@schools.nyc.gov

Academic Policy, Performance and Assessment Specialist

Contact me about Academic Policy, STARS, and ATS, Excel Google Sheets, computer science & technology.

Fun Fact: I love escape rooms, and I've designed and built two of my own!
Photograph of Amy Reynolds

Amy Reynolds

areynolds@schools.nyc.gov

Advance Lead / RLC

Contact me about Remote Learning and Advance - MOTP / MOSL.

Fun Fact: I ❤️ to knit.
Photograph of staff member

Paula Stein

PStein3@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about ELA K-5, Priority Learning Standards.

Fun Fact: I love to cook.
Photograph of Paula Stein

Phyllis Tam

ptam@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about mathematics (3-8), enVision math, NGLS, CR-SE, ILF, & planning for professional learning cycles.

Fun Fact: I enjoy listening to instrumental music for relaxation
Photograph of Michael Tancredi

Michael Tancredi

MTancre@schools.nyc.gov

Academic Policy, Performance and Assessment Specialist

Contact me about academic policy issues, STARS programming, ATS questions.

Fun Fact: I have 3 kids and am an avid comic & sports card collector.
Photograph of Cherie Umstead

Cherie Umstead

CUmstea@schools.nyc.gov

School Improvement Coach

Contact me about instructional teaching practices to elicit and assess student understanding in 6 - 12 mathematics.

Fun Fact: I can write forwards and backwards with both hands, simultaneously!
Photograph of Rahjia Vandiver

Rahjia Vandiver

RVandiver@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about ELA K-5, Priority Learning Standards, Culturally Responsive -Sustaining Education.

Fun Fact: I love to travel.
Photograph of Tracie Vaughan

Tracie Vaughan

tvaughan@schools.nyc.gov

Academic Policy, Performance and Assessment Specialist

Contact me about academic policy, grading policy, school accountability reports, STARS, and ATS.

Fun Fact: I love to cook
Photograph of Melinda Willens

Melinda Willens

mwillen@schools.nyc.gov

Borough Instructional Lead

Contact me about studies/Passport (k-8), NGLS (ELA), ILF, and anything CEP-related.

Fun Fact: My three cats are my work buddies and have been helping me design effective professional learning!
Photograph of Andy Yuen

Andy Yuen

AYuen2@schools.nyc.gov

Advance Lead

Contact me about anything related to Advance - MOTP / MOSL.

Fun Fact: I love to travel.